The University of Maryland Alumni Association Board of Governors evaluates the mission, strategic direction and future programming of the Alumni Association—an independent 501(c)(3) organization—and monitors the organization’s leadership, service and financial results. Elected members serve two consecutive two-year terms.

At-large board members are expected to:

  • Be graduates of the University of Maryland, College Park;
  • Be dues-paying members of the Alumni Association throughout their board service with goals of upgrading to life membership;
  • Contribute annually through the Maryland Fund for Excellence, and consider major and planned gifts to the association, the Samuel Riggs IV Alumni Center or the university overall (as applicable);
  • Actively participate by serving on a board committee and attending three full-board meetings a year;
  • Attend at least one signature university or Alumni Association event a year, such as Homecoming, the Awards Gala or Maryland Day;
  • Serve as ambassadors to the greater community and beyond, promoting the university, Alumni Association and the Samuel Riggs IV Alumni Center to prospective students and their parents, fellow alumni and the general public;
  • Actively recruit new members and donors to the Alumni Association, preferably at the lifetime membership or major gift level, and encourage further participation in their alma mater through volunteerism.

Officers: Executive Council

James G. Spencer ’90
James G. Spencer ’90
Executive Vice President
Health Pro-Heritage


Kirk D. Bell 88
Immediate Past President
Kirk D. Bell '88
Director of Application Quality Assurance

Fannie Mae

Jeffrey Rivest ‘75
President Elect
Jeffrey Rivest '75
Retired Health Care Executive

Wanda A. Alexander ’81
Past President
Wanda A. Alexander ’81
President, CEO, Owner
Horizon Consulting Inc.

amy eichhorst

Amy Eichhorst
Executive Director
University of Maryland Alumni Association

Ex Officio Officers

Wallace D. Loh
Wallace D. Loh
University of Maryland

VP for University Relations
Jackie Lewis
Vice President for University Relations
University of Maryland


Carlos Acosta ’85, ’91
Carlos Acosta ’85, ’91
College of Arts and Humanities
Inspector General
Prince Georges’ County Police

M Club Rep
Marguerit M. Cheng '91


M Club Rep
Laurie A. De Armond '94


M Club Rep
Jason M. Feinstein '91


Wanika Fisher '10
Wanika Fisher '10
Office of the State’s Attorney for PG County

James Giangrande ’90
James Giangrande '90
Altium Wealth Management, LLC

M Club Rep
Ajay K. Gupta '95 '98

Mike Mellor ‘00
Mike Mellor '00

Director of Marketing
Pryor Cashman LLP


M Club Rep
Nefretiti N. Nassar '10 '12

M Club Rep
Theodore A. Offit '77

Photo of Rich Parson
Rich Parson '05
Community Health Coordinator
Reach Riverside

Daniel Rochkind ‘98
Daniel Rochkind '98
Marker LLC

Justin Ross ‘98
Justin Ross '98
Perry, White, Ross, Jacobson, LLC

M Club Rep
Bert D. Williams '96

Tiana Wynn ‘05
Tiana Wynn '05
Senior Manager
SB & Company, LLC



Tom Mullineaux '68
College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Tom Mullineaux '68

M Club Rep
School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation

M Club Rep
College of Arts and Humanities
Veronica Segovia de Bedon '04
Senior Advisor

M Club Rep
College of Behavioral and Social Sciences
Brandon S. Cole '01
Managing Partner
Choice Clinical Services

M Club Rep
Robert H. Smith School of Business
Stacey A. Lacer '06
Project Manager
W.R. Grace & Company

Terry McTigue ’84
College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences
Terry McTigue ’84
NOAA National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science

Linda Pieplow ’72, M.A. ’78
College of Education
Linda Pieplow ’72, M.A. ’78

Liz Goldwasser
A. James Clark School of Engineering
Liz Goldwasser
Lead Engineer
UMD Fishell Department of Engineering

Victoria Weaver
College of Information Studies
Tori Weaver '02

Alyssa Todaro Brooks ’15
School of Public Health
Alyssa Todaro Brooks ’15
Scientific Program Specialist
National Instititutes of Health

M Club Rep
School of Public Policy
Whitney C. Dixon '17
U.S. Department of State

Ex Officio Members

Jordan A. Goodman ’73, M.S. ’75, Ph.D. ’78
Faculty Representative
Jordan A. Goodman ’73, M.S. ’75, Ph.D. ’78
Department of Physics
University of Maryland

M Club Rep
M Club Representative
Laura Chiriaco '08
Program Director


M Club Rep
M Club Director Emeritus
Advisory Position

Terrapin Club Rep
Terrapin Club Representative
Marcos Bronfman '81

Annie Rappeport
Graduate Student Government Representative
Annie Rappeport

M Club Rep
Student Government Representative
Ireland C. Lesley

M Club Rep
Student Alumni Leadership Council Representative
Edom Mesfein

M Club Rep
Advisory Position

M Club Rep
Advisory Position



2019-2021 Board of Governors Committees

Executive Council

Jim Spencer, President
Jeff Rivest, President-Elect
Kirk Bell, Immediate Past President
Wanda Alexander, Past President
Laurie De Armond, Chair, Finance Committee

Governance Committee

Jeff Rivest, Chair
Jim Giangrande
Bert Williams
Amy Eichhorst, Staff

Finance Committee

Laurie De Armond, Chair
Chris Ade
Daniel Rochkind
CB Davis **
CJ Grant **
Tiana Wynn
Peter Canine, Staff
** Non-Board of Governor member

Advocacy Committee

Mike Mellor, Chair
Justin Ross
Alyssa Brooks
Wanika Fisher
Linda Pieplow 
Jeff Rivest
Tom Mullineaux
Dan Nadash **
Samantha Zwerling **
Amy Eichhorst, Staff
Andrew Griffin, Staff
** Non-Board of Governor member

Scholarship Committee

Kirk Bell, Chair
Linda Williams
Carlos Acosta
Terry McTigue
Linda Pieplow
Lauren Norris, Staff

Awards and Recognition Committee

Tiana Wynn, Chair
Terry McTigue
Mike Mellor