Skip to main content
Home About Us

Board of Governors

2022 Board of Governors

2022 Board of Governors

Board of Governors

The University of Maryland Alumni Association Board of Governors evaluates the mission, strategic direction and future programming of the Alumni Association—an independent 501(c)(3) organization—and monitors the organization’s leadership, service and financial results. Elected members serve two consecutive two-year terms.  All schools and colleges have one representative on the board.  

Officers: Executive Council

Formal portrait of Rivest Jeff in a dark suit and red tie.

Jeffrey "Jeff" A. Rivest '75


Retired Health Care Executive

Formal portrait of Jim Spencer in a dark suit, red tie, and testudo turtle lapel pin

James "Jim" G. Spencer ’90

Immediate Past President

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer BGB Group

A professional headshot of Laurie DeArmond.

Laurie A. DeArmond '94


Partner and National Co-Leader


Kirk Bell, a past president of the UMD Alumni Association

Kirk D. Bell '88

Past President

Director of Application Quality Assurance

Fannie Mae

A professional headshot of Ted Offit.

Theodore "Ted" A. Offit '77

Chair, Finance Committee


Offit/Kurman Attorneys at Law

Amy Eichhorst, Executive Director

Amy F. Eichhorst


Associate Vice President, Alumni Donor and Relations

Executive Director, University of Maryland Alumni Association

Ex Officio Officers

A professional outdoor headshot of Darryll J. Pines.

Darryll J. Pines


University of Maryland

A professional headshot of Matthew Hodge.

Matthew M. Hodge

Vice President for University Relations

President, UMCPF

University of Maryland

At-Large Members

A professional headshot of Carlos Acosta.

The Honorable Carlos F. Acosta '85, M.A. '91

Associate Judge

Montgomery County Circuit Court

Montgomery County

A professional headshot of Rita Cheng.

Marguerita "Rita" M. Cheng '91, M.S. '93


Blue Ocean Global Wealth

A professional headshot of Marina Cooper.

Marina H. Cooper '03

AVP, Integrated Marketing & Brand Management

The Johns Hopkins University

A professional headshot of Patty Cousins.

Patricia "Patty" G. Cousins '87

Global Officer, Human Resources Business Operations

Marriott International, Inc.

A professional headshot of Jason Feinstein.

Jason M. Feinstein '91


Axon Health Associates

A professional headshot of Jazz Lewis.

The Honorable Jazz M. Lewis '11, MPP '14


District 24, Maryland House of Delegates

A professional headshot of Cate Luzio.

Catherine "Cate" Luzio '97

Founder and CEO


A professional headshot of Nefretiti Nassar.

Nefretiti N. Nassar '10, M.S. '12

Senior Technical Advisor

Axiologic Solutions

A professional headshot of Wilson Wang.

Wilson Wang '03

Vice President, CFO, and Treasurer

The MITRE Corporation

A professional headshot of Bert Williams.

Bert D. Williams '96

Security Manager

Fannie Mae

Susan Wood

Susan A. Wood '84

President and Chief Executive Officer

VIDA Diagnostics, Inc.

A professional headshot of Derrin Woodhouse.

Derrin A. Woodhouse '95

Vice President of Entertainment & Influencer Marketing

Tommy Hilfiger

A professional headshot of Shayan Zadeh.

Shayan G. Zadeh '02

Founder and CEO

Leap Rail, Inc.


A professional headshot of Tom Mullineaux.

Thomas "Tom" P. Mullineaux '68

College of Agriculture and Natural Resources


Matt Jones

Matthew "Matt" J. Jones '15

School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation

Planning & Transportation Manager

National Landing Business Improvement District

Kevin Davis

Kevin M. Davis '02, M.A. '07

College of Arts and Humanities


Caplin and Drysdale, Chartered

A professional headshot of Brandon Cole.

Brandon S. Cole '01

College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Managing Partner

Choice Clinical Services

Miki Ahuja

Jitin "Miki" Ahuja '97

Robert H. Smith School of Business


SpaceJet Media

A professional headshot of Betsy Read-Connole.

Elizabeth "Betsy" L. Read-Connole '00

College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences


University of Maryland College Park

A professional headshot of Barbara Friedlander.

Barbara D. Friedlander '85

College of Education

Learning and Achievement Specialist

Montgomery County Public Schools

Jeff Karceski

Jeffrey "Jeff" D. Karceski, Esq. '88

A. James Clark School of Engineering

Patent Attorney

Karceski IP Law, PLLC

A professional headshot of Sukhneet Kaur.

Sukhneet "Sukhi" Kaur '18

College of Information Studies

Business and Technology Delivery Senior Analyst

Accenture Federal Services

Catalina Mejía '18

Catalina Mejia Arenas '18

Phillip Merrill College of Journalism

Bilingual Journalist, Multiplatform Storyteller and Communications Strategist

A professional headshot of Jameson Roth.

Jameson E. Roth '16, '17

School of Public Health

Senior Account Manager

McCabe Message Partners

Hugo Cantu

Hugo Cantu '20

School of Public Policy

Policy Director

Prince George's County Council

Council Member Tom Dernoga, District 1

Ex Officio Members

A professional headshot of Jordan Goodman, with a gold Terrapin pin on the right lapel.

Jordan A. Goodman '73, M.S. '75, Ph.D. '78

Faculty Representative

Department of Physics

University of Maryland

A professional headshot of Laura Chiriaco.

Laura E. Chiriaco '08

M Club Representative

Program Director

Linh Nyugen

Linh Nguyen '08

Terrapin Club Representative

Ayelette Halbfinger '23

Student Government Association Representative

Joey Haavik

Joey Haavik '23

Graduate Student Government Representative

A professional headshot of Jim Giangrande.

James "Jim" L. Giangrande '90

Advisory Position

A professional headshot of Veronica Segovia de Bedon.

Veronica Segovia de Bedon '04

Advisory Position


Zoe Nicholson '24

Student Alumni Leadership Council (SALC) Representative

Past Presidents

A professional Wanda Alexander.

Wanda A. Alexander '87

2015 to 2017

Nicole Pollard

Nicole R. Pollard '91

2013 to 2015

Timmy F. Ruppersberger, Esq. '77

2011 to 2013

Steve Rotter

Steven "Steve" M. Rotter '82

2009 to 2011

A professional headshot of Chip Sollins.

Chip Sollins

2007 to 2009


  • Jeff Rivest, President
  • Laurie De Armond, President-Elect
  • Jim Spencer, Immediate Past President
  • Kirk Bell, Past President
  • Ted Offit, Chair, Finance Chair
  • Laurie De Armond, Chair
  • Carlos Acosta
  • Patty Cousins
  • Amy Eichhorst
  • Nefretiti Nassar
  • Bert Williams
  • Jeff Williams, Staff
  • Jessica Roberts, Staff
  • Ted Offit, Chair
  • Jitin "Miki" Ahuja
  • Philip Bass **
  • Rita Cheng
  • Kevin Davis
  • Jason Feinstein
  • Ethan Jenkins
  • Cate Luzio
  • Wilson Wang
  • Peter Canine, Staff
  • Trevor Rickford, Staff


  • Rita Cheng, Chair
  • Kirk Bell
  • John Carlson **
  • Brandon Cole
  • Jason Feinstein
  • Barbara Friedlander
  • Joey Haavik
  • Jeff Karceski
  • Tom Mullineaux
  • Betsy Read-Connole
  • Jameson Roth
  • Susan Wood
  • Derrin Woodhouse
  • ChristieLyn Diller, Staff
  • Jessica Lee, Staff


  • Carlos Acosta, Chair
  • Albertina (Tita) Brett **
  • Marina Cooper
  • Dan Cronin **
  • Ayelette Halbfinger
  • Jazz Lewis
  • Catalina Mejia Arenas
  • Ashley Miller **
  • Shayan Zadeh
  • Natalie Ross, Staff
  • Mary Bathon, Staff


  • Nefretiti Nassar, Chair
  • Patty Cousins
  • Matt Jones
  • Sukhneet "Sukhi" Kaur
  • Betsy Read-Connole
  • Veronica Segovia de Bedon **
  • Jennifer Tepper **
  • Wilson Wang
  • Jeff Williams, Staff
  • Erica Lane, Staff