Skip to main content
Home About Us Alumni Awards

The Alumni Excellence Awards

The Alumni Excellence Awards

Graduates of the University of Maryland are among the best and brightest in their fields. From scholars and innovators to entrepreneurs, teachers and researchers, our alumni are leaving their mark on our state, nation and world. The Alumni Excellence Awards recognize the accomplishments of select Terps and honor these recipients with distinction.

Rising Terp Award

Honors an alumnus/a under 30 years old who has distinguished themselves personally and professionally. Up to three Rising Terp Awards will be granted, celebrating a Terp/s who excel in their career and inspire the next generation of Terp leaders. The The Rising Terp awardee/s will also be recognized at the annual Terps Under 30 event.

Research Award

Honors an alumnus/a whose research has made significant impact on the university, the state and/or the nation. Up to three Research Awards will be granted, celebrating a Terp/s whose transformational research is making a positive impact on the world.

EnTERPreneur Award

Honors an entrepreneurial alumnus/a whose company has made a significant impact on the university, the state and/or the nation. Up to three EnTERPreneur Awards will be granted, celebrating a Terp/s who has started a business which is fearlessly disrupting its industry.

Legacy Award

Honors an alumnus/a who has made a significant impact on their community over their lifetime. Up to three Legacy Awards will be granted, celebrating the personal and professional lifetime achievement of Terps.

Nomination Process

Nominations are collected annually from May 10 - July 15.

  • All members of the Terp community are welcome to submit a deserving alumnus/a for one of the highlighted above (self-nominations are also accepted).
  • Alumni may be nominated for more than one award.
  • Nominations must be submitted electronically through the online nomination form which consists of:
    • Nominator's contact information
    • Nominee’s contact information
    • The nominator's personal case for why this candidate should receive the award
    • Any supporting documentation

Selection and Recognition

  • All nominations must be received by June 15
  • All nominations will be reviewed by a committee composed of university staff.
  • There may be up to three honorees per award category.
  • Honoree names and titles will appear in the Winter Issue of Terp Magazine, published in January.

The Alumni Excellence Awards Archive - Rising Terp

2022 Honorees

Audrey Awasom ’18

Founder, Noble Uprising

Matthew Hollister ’18

Chairman and CEO, James Hollister Wellness Foundation; Co-Founder, Save Pharmaceutical

Akash Magoon ’18

Co-Founder, Nayya

  • Nikhil Balakumar ’14: Head of Market Development - Eastern region, Utildata; Co-Founder, Terp Entrepreneur Network
  • Dani Beckerman ’12: Owner, Jars by Dani
  • Sahil Rahman ’12 and Rahul Vinod ’11: Founders and Owners, Rasa
  • Beth Barkley ’12, M.Ed. ’13: Secondary English/Language Arts Teacher, District of Columbia Public Schools
  • Mackenzie Burnett ’15: Co-founder, the Next 50
  • Jonathan Chen ’14: Co-founder & Technology Advisor, FiscalNote; Co-founder & Chief Technology Officer, Pathover

The Alumni Excellence Awards Archive - Research

2022 Honorees

Faez Ahmed Ph.D. ’19

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Masschusetts Institute of Technology Director, Design Computation & Digital Engineering Lab

Bridget T. Kelly M.A ’96, Ph.D. ’01

Associate Professor, Diversity Officer and Chair of The Council on Racial Equity and Justice, UMD College of Education

Dr. Kathleen Maletic Neuzil Ph.D. ’83

Myron M. Levin, M.D., DTPH, Professor in Vaccinology; Director of the Center for Vaccine Development and Global Health; Chief, Division of Geographic Medicine, University of Maryland School of Medicine

  • Autumn Griffin Ph.D. ’20: Co-Founder, Blackademia
  • Ruth Kastner ’82, M.S. ’92, Ph.D. ’99: Founder of the Quantum Institute, Author, Educator and UMD Research Associate
  • Samuel Ramsey Ph.D. ’18: Entomologist, U.S. Department of Agriculture Bee Research Lab
  • Sharon Fries-Britt ’81, Ph.D. ’94: Professor, Higher Education, University of Maryland
  • Stephen Kerber ’03, M.S. ’05: Vice President, Research, Underwriters Laboratories

The Alumni Excellence Awards Archive - EnTERPrenuer Award

2022 Honorees

David C. Quattrone MBA ’05

Co-Founder and Chief Technology Officer, Cvent

Lauren Foundos ’06

Founder & CEO, Fortë

Pramod Raheja ’91 and Evandro Valente ’03, M.S. ’06

Co-Founders, Airgility

  • Brett Schulman ’95: CEO, Cava
  • Steve Touw ’99: Founder & Chief Technology Officer, Immuta
  • Cate Luzio ’97: Founder & CEO, Luminary
  • Anthony Casalena ’05: Founder & CEO, Squarespace
  • Evan Lutz ’14: CEO, Hungry Harvest
  • Shayan Zadeh M.S. ’02: Founder & CEO, Leap Rail

The Alumni Excellence Awards Archive - Legacy Award

2022 Honorees

John C. Ford ’64 and Sandra Sollod Poster ’64

Owner, John C. Ford Associates; Communications Consultant

Rita B. Leahy Ph.D. ’89

Asphalt Technology Authority

Jonathan Claiborne ’77

Retired Partner, Whiteford Taylor Preston

  • Rebecca Evans Carroll Ed.D. ’66: Author, Educator and Former Deputy Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, Baltimore City Public Schools
  • Karel Petraitis: President, Prince George's County Terps Alumni Network; Volunteer with Rebounders and Fast Breakers; Former Terrapin Club Board Member
  • Greg Schaub ’82: Retired Managing Director, JP Morgan Chase; Former Member, Alumni Association Board of Governors
  • David Diehl ’74: Retired