Skip to main content
Home About Us News & Stories

A Celebration to Remember

A Celebration to Remember

Dr Jody Olsen with award
The Alumni Association’s marquee event, A Celebration of Terps: Featuring the Maryland Awards, was reimagined this year as a virtual gala on Friday, April 23, 2021. The celebration capped off a week of events for the inauguration of Darryll J. Pines, the 34th president of the university.
COVID testing and vaccinations allowed for a small, intimate black-tie event in person at the Samuel Riggs IV Alumni Center for university leadership, members of the Alumni Association Board of Governors and awardees. Fellow alumni, friends and fans joined the celebration by viewing the livestreamed awards ceremony at home.
The event opened with a recorded instrumental version of the university’s alma mater and was co-hosted by Amy Eichhorst, executive director of the Alumni Association and assistant vice president of alumni relations, and Pines. During opening remarks, he shared his pride for the alumni community and encouraged all Terps to remain Terrapin Strong and to make a lasting and positive impact on society. In-person and virtual guests had the opportunity to hear from each honoree as they shared stories and words of edification. Overall, the program was inspiring and a true demonstration of what amazing alumni and friends we have at Maryland. 
Thank you to all who joined us in honoring the achievements of six outstanding Terps: 
  • President's Award
    Jody K. Olsen Ph.D. '79
    Former Peace Corps Director 

    Honored for her life-long commitment in championing the expansion of service, learning and international opportunities for Americans of all backgrounds.
  • Outstanding Young Alumnus Award 
    Jazz Lewis ’11, MPP ’14 
    Democratic Caucus Chair, Maryland State Delegate

    Honored for leveraging his educational background and public platform to address criminal justice reform and promote economic opportunity for all Marylanders.
  • Do Good Award
    L. Seth Statler MBA ’87
    Director of Government Affairs, National Fire Protection Association

    Honored for his commitment to Do Good, volunteering in his community and being a champion for fallen firefighters and their families.
  • Tyser Gottwals Award
    Wanda Alexander ’81
    President and CEO, WAA-LLC 

    Honored for ongoing service and philanthropy to the university and the Alumni Association and for inspiring past, present and future Terps.
  • Elaine Johnson Coates Award
    Joseph Kunkel M.Arch. ’09
    Principal, MASS Design Group
    Director, Sustainable Native Communities Design Lab

    Honored for his dedication to developing a lasting impact within American society where Indigenous peoples have a seat at the table. 
  • Spirit of Maryland Award 
    Johnny Holliday
    Voice of Maryland Basketball and Football (UMD Athletics)

    Honored for his dedication to charitable giving, commitment to Maryland and inspiring Terp fans everywhere.
Learn more about these distinguished Terps and watch a recording of the awards ceremony at Photographs from the event can also be viewed here.